top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex Needham

Record Store Day 2024 Staff Picks

This weekend marks the 17th edition of Record Store Day, a celebration dedicated to independent record stores. Over 250 record stores, including Townsend Records, will participate, offering limited edition vinyl releases. These exclusive titles will be available for purchase in-store only during the event. However, starting Monday, April 22nd, they will also be accessible online for those who couldn't make it to the physical stores. Ahead of tomorrow's launch, here are our top picks from the full list.



This is the first physical pressing of Laufey’s A Night At The Symphony. Recorded at Harpa Concert Hall in Reykjavík with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra, A Night At The Symphony features renditions of previously released tracks off Laufey’s 2022 debut album Everything I Know About Love and her Typical of Me EP, as well as reworks of songs including jazz standard 'The Nearness of You,' Cole Porters’ 'Everytime We Say Goodbye' and Icelandic jazz artist Elly Vilhjálms’ 'Ég Veit Þú Kemur.'

A Night At The Symphony, was recorded during a two night period and contains 14 tracks.

The album is being made available exclusively for RSD 2024 on double vinyl. Laufey will also release Bewitched: Goddess Edition on April 26th.


Kaiser Chiefs

Almost two decades in the game, and armed with an extensive back-catalogue of stadium belters, and record-breaking success, Kaiser Chiefs returned with their brand new studio album, the aptly titled Kaiser Chiefs Easy Eighth Album. Produced by Amir Amor (Rudimental), The Easy Eighth sees the Kaiser Chiefs return with a fresh and bold new sound. From the Nile Rodgers co-write of new single ‘Feeling Alright’, to the frantic ‘Beautiful Girl’, horn-laden Kaiser Chiefs throwback ‘Job Centre Shuffle’ and joyous punch in the gut that is ‘Jealousy’, these ten tracks are a true statement of intent from a band that continues to deliver the goods again and again.

Kaiser Chiefs return with two special London shows at Troxy & Flippers Roller Boogie Palace (Apr 20th & 21st).

The album is now available as a picture disc with the artwork by Vic Reeves/Jim Moir.


Roger Waters

Released in the year of the 50th Anniversary of the original album, The Dark Side Of The Moon Redux, is Roger Waters' homage to the masterpiece he created with Pink Floyd in 1973. This limited edition 1LP picture disc of the album is individually numbered in a die-cut sleeve.

"Dave, Rick, Nick, and I were so young when we made [the original], and when you look at the world around us, clearly the message hasn't stuck. That's why I started to consider what the wisdom of an 80 year old could bring to a reimagined version" - Roger Waters

Limited to 3500 copies worldwide.


Billy Bragg

Bloke on Bloke is a 7 track collection of singles and b-sides from his sessions recording his 1996 album, William Bloke. The album features 'The Boy Done Good' co-written by Johnny Marr, and a cover of The Smiths' 'Never Had No One Ever'.

The title is a play on the Bob Dylan album Blonde On Blonde.

This Record Store Day exclusive is pressed on limited edition orange and blue split effect vinyl. This is the first time Bloke On Bloke has been released on vinyl. 



UB45 marks the celebration of 45 years of UB40, showcasing seven brand-new tracks alongside reinvigorated renditions of the band's timeless classics. Across its 14 tracks, the band do what they do best, with songs that fearlessly address societal hot button issues and take a firm stand against the injustices of the world.

"When you play songs over so many years, the arrangements & vocals evolve and change. These updated versions of our hits reflect how we perform them today and they sound better than ever." - Robin Campbell

UB45 is officially released today with the vinyl edition joining tomorrow's festivities of Record Store Day.


Shed Seven

2024 marks the 30th anniversary of the debut album Change Giver. To mark the occasion, Shed Seven have taken a trip down memory lane and revisited the entire album, giving it a stripped-back, unplugged vibe that we think sounds amazing.

"We've poured our hearts into re-recording these songs, rediscovering the magic of the songs that started it all. It's been a fantastic journey, and we've fallen in love with them all over again." - Shed Seven

This Record Store Day release is pressed on Half White & Half Black Vinyl.



Brand new and exclusive to Record Store Day 2024 comes 4 new tracks from the iconic Alternative quartet Garbage. This features two entirely unreleased and brand new songs on side A, a new unreleased cover of This Mortal Coil’s classic ‘Song To The Siren’ and a new remix of ‘Bad Boyfriend’ from their standout 2005 album Bleed Like Me.

Dave Grohl performed drums on 'Bad Boyfriend' His performance was regarded by the band as "raising the bar" for the record.

Lie To Me will only be released physically on limited 12’’ colour vinyl, followed by a digital release on DSPs.


Many more Record Store Day 2024 titles are set to be available from Townsend Music Store including artists such as Alison Goldfrapp, Elton John, Bryan Ferry, David Bowie, Olivia Rodrigo & Noah Kahan + many many more!

Record Store Day 2024 will take place in stores on Saturday 20th April and online from Monday 22nd April at 8pm. 


Subscribe to Our Site

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page