top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Barrett

Record Store Day Exclusive Sale Picks

2022's Record Store Day took place on Saturday 23rd April 2022 and saw Townsend Records' queues reaching around the block as music lovers took the day to appreciate the amazing releases featured this year. Our Exclusive Clearance Sale on RSD 2022 stock, offering discounts on vinyl from artists including Madness, Slade, Motörhead and many more, is now live - let's take a look at some of our favourite discs on offer!


1) Slade: Ballzy - Translucent Blue Vinyl

The provocative, yet spectacular US-only debut release from Slade laid the foundation for the rock band's path to their legendary status. This is a must for fans of glam rock!

"Listen to how musical the Holder/Lee original 'Pity the Mother' is to hear how inspired and truly underrated these artists were and still are" - AllMusic

Ballzy had previously never been released outside of the US market. This gem will touch the hands of fans worldwide for the first time with this stunning translucent blue vinyl variant.


2) Madness: Baggy Trousers - 12" Vinyl

The classic tune 'Baggy Trousers' by English ska/pop band Madness is a song reminiscent of school days and it is one of the band's only singles that wasn't released on 12" back in the day.

"I was very specifically trying to write a song in the style of Ian Dury, especially the songs he was writing then, which [were] often sort of catalogues of phrases in a constant stream." - Suggs

Complete with etched messaging from the band, the sleeve features the iconic Humphrey Ocean illustration that graced the cover of the original 7” single in 1980. Grab a copy in our exclusive RSD sale now!


3) Motörhead: The Lost Tapes Vol. 1 & Vol. 2 - Red and Blue 2LP

We've got not one, but TWO Motörhead picks in our exclusive RSD sale. The Lost Tapes Vol. 1 and The Lost Tapes Vol. 2 have been hand-picked by the Motörhead team along with surviving members Phil Campbell and Mikkey Dee.

For Motörhead, recording sets on cassette was a standard part of every tour.

Vol. 1 is pressed on a ravishing red double vinyl and sees the trio in blistering form on the Sacrifice album tour recorded at the Sala Aqualung in Madrid, Spain in June 1995. Vol. 2 comes on blue double vinyl with the band playing a killer set at the University of East Anglia, Norwich in October 1998.


4) Supergrass: Moving Blue Vinyl

Two unforgettable versions of Supergrass' hit 'Moving' from their self-titled 1999 album, were released for the first time for Record Store Day earlier this year.

Directed by Nick Gordon, the video for 'Moving', like the lyrics of the song, is intended to depict the tedium of touring.

The release features a cover that has been masterfully reworked from the original 1999 single artwork and includes rarities such as the East Is East film soundtrack mix of ‘Moving’ and an Absolute Radio live version recorded in 2020.


5) The Kinks: Waterloo Sunset EP - Yellow 12" Vinyl

2022 marks the 55th anniversary of The Kinks' iconic single 'Waterloo Sunset', a song that Ray Davies initially never wanted to it to be released. To celebrate, the Waterloo Sunset EP was released for Record Store Day in June.

"The song is about how innocence will prevail over adversity. It starts out delicate, but by the end has become awesome in its power." Ray Davies - The Kinks

Skillfully remastered by Tony Cousins at Metropolis, pressed on bright yellow wax accompanied by artwork from the original 1967 French EP, you'd be a fool to miss out on this diamond.


Shop the Exclusive Record Store Day Sale over on Townsend Music Store.


Subscribe to Our Site

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page